- July 23, 2009
- In car Accident
In California, you are required to have a certain amount of liability insurance. The importance of liability insurance is so great that a state program exists to give low income drivers access to affordable liability coverage, as reported at SmartBrief.com.Liability insurance is necessary because it pays for damages caused by your vehicle in the event of an accident. Basic liability car insurance offers three types of coverage:
- $15,000 minimum bodily injury liability coverage per person to cover personal injuries caused by your vehicle
- $30,000 minimum bodily injury liability per accident. If more than one person is injured by your vehicle, the combined coverage for all injured parties is $30,000.
- $5,000 minimum property damage coverage to offset the costs of any property damaged by your vehicle.
If you do not have liability coverage for your vehicle, you will get a citation and a small fine for a first offense. You will also have your license suspended until you can submit proof of insurance. If you cause an accident in a vehicle without insurance, the California tort system could find you at fault and therefore liable for all of the damages you caused in an auto accident.
Beyond minimum liability coverage, many insurance experts recommend purchasing underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage to protect yourself in case you are injured by a motorist with insufficient or nonexistent liability coverage.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an auto accident, please contact the Law Offices of Samer Habbas and discuss your situation with an experienced car accident lawyer.
May 23, 2022
May 18, 2022
April 10, 2022
January 31, 2022
January 28, 2022