- June 2, 2010
- In personal Injury
If you believe that you have a valid personal injury case or most any type of legal case for that matter, there are statutes of limitations determined by California law. These statutes determine the length of time after the alleged incident or injury occurred that an injured party has to file a suit seeking damages. Please bear in mind that experienced Southern California personal injury lawyer Samer Habbas or another California personal injury attorney can explain statutes of limitations in much greater detail. Here are many different types of common claims and their respective statutes of limitations in California.
- Negligence – 2 years with Discovery Rule
- Wrongful death – 2 years with limited exceptions
- Medical malpractice – 3 years from date of injury or 1 year from date of discovery (there are several exceptions for this statute)
- Other type of malpractice – 1 year (for legal malpractice up to 4 years from date of wrongful act)
- Product liability – 2 years with Discovery Rule
- Intentional torts – 1 year for false imprisonment, slander, libel, seduction of a person below the age of consent; 2 years for assault and battery
- Fraud – 3 years with some qualifying stipulations
- Sexual discrimination action for wages – 2 years, 3 years if the violation was willful
- Sexual abuse by health care professionals2 years
- Injuries caused by domestic violence3 years from injury or 2 years from discovery (whichever is longer)
Please remember that this is an abbreviated list and that there are many mitigating factors that can have a great deal of bearing on whether you have a case and which statutes of limitations apply. If you have suffered an injury, your best course of action is to discuss the matter with an experienced Anaheim personal injury lawyer such as Mr. Habbas. To schedule a consultation to discuss your case, call his law offices of samer habbas today at 888.848.5084.
Tags : personal Injury